A proper methodology should be followed while selecting beneficiaries for social security schemes


The Committee on Methods and Means emphasised {that a} correct methodology needs to be adopted in deciding on beneficiaries for social safety schemes.

This was taken into dialogue on the Committee on Methods and Means Chaired by Hon. Patali Champika Ranawaka, member of Parliament.

The officers knowledgeable the committee relating to the “Aswesuma” welfare scheme to be carried out by the federal government from the primary of July. Officers identified that welfare profit funds can be made below 04 social classes of transitional, weak, poor and very poor, and associated allowances may also be given to the disabled, aged and kidney sufferers as typical below this scheme.

It was revealed that greater than 3.7 million functions have been obtained to obtain this allowance and the people who find themselves in actual want can be given this allowance from the primary day of July. The Chair of the Committee emphasised that the World Financial institution has indicated that 30 % of the recipients of the Samurdhi allowance should not eligible for it and the beneficiaries for this scheme needs to be chosen preserving that in thoughts.

The Committee additionally identified the necessity for periodic analysis of the beneficiaries benefiting from the insurance coverage scheme.

In the meantime, the Chair of the Committee expressed his displeasure over the failure of the Customs Division, the Inland Income Division, the Excise Division and the Ministry of Finance to submit the related studies on the due date as ordered within the Committee assembly held final week.

The Chair of the Committee emphasised to the officers to take steps to submit related studies and views throughout the stipulated interval when referred to as for by a Committee of the Parliament.

State Minister Hon. Shasheendra Rajapaksa, Members of Parliament Hon. Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Hon. W. D. J. Seneviratne, Hon. Wasantha Yapabandara, Hon. Gamini Waleboda, Hon. Ali Sabri Raheem, Hon. SMM Muszhaaraf, Hon. Sanjeeva Edirimanna had been current on the Committee assembly held.



How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 1 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *