Lasantha Alagiyawanna elected as the new COPA chair with a majority of votes


State Minister Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna, was elected as the brand new Chair of the Committee on Public Accounts (COPA) with a majority of votes. He was elected on the first assembly of the Committee on Public Accounts held (Feb-24) for the Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament.

The title of Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna was proposed by Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera and was seconded by Hon. (Dr.) Suren Raghavan.

The title of Hon. Kabir Hashim, Member of Parliament for the place of Chair of COPA was proposed by Hon. Ashok Abeysinghe, and was seconded by Hon. Mano Ganesan. Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna obtained 14 votes while Hon. Kabir Hashim obtained 07 votes and accordingly, was elected because the chair.

The Chair said that he has gained plenty of expertise by representing various Committees since 2004, and that he hopes to satisfy his duties independently for the nation no matter occasion variations throughout the Committee and expects the assist of all committee members so as to take action.

Moreover, the Chair identified that the Committee on Public Accounts is the oldest Committee within the historical past of Parliament and can full 100 years in October 2023.

Because the Committee on Public Accounts supervise the method following the passing of the funds by the Parliament, on behalf of the Parliament which has management over the nation's funds, Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna said that this Committee has the identical duty because the Home.

State Ministers Hon. Mohan Priyadarshan De Silva, Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera, Hon. Kader Mastan, Hon. (Dr.) Suren Raghavan, Hon. (Ms.) Diana Gamage, Hon. Chamara Sampath Dasanayake together with different Members of Parliament Hon. S. B. Dissanayake, Hon. Wajira Abeywardana, Hon. A. L. M. Athaullah, Hon. Kabir Hashim, Hon. Mano Ganesan, Hon. (Dr.) Sarath Weerasekera, Hon. Niroshan Perera, Hon. J. C. Alawathuwala, Hon. Vadivel Suresh, Hon. Ashok Abeysinghe, Hon. Jayantha Ketagoda, Hon. Hector Appuhamy, Hon. (Dr.) Main Pradeep Undugoda, Hon. Isuru Dodangoda, Hon. Sahan Pradeep Withana and D. Weerasinghe had been current on the Committee assembly held.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *