Orientation programme for newly appointed Sri Lanka Heads of Mission


The Ministry of Overseas Affairs performed an orientation programme from 16 – 23 December, for fourteen (14) newly designated Heads of Sri Lanka Missions overseas and two (02) Heads of Publish who had been lately appointed by President Ranil Wickremesinghe. These appointed are attributable to assume duties shortly.


The Overseas Ministry welcomes the appointment of a lot of profession diplomats as Heads of Mission. Twelve (12) of the brand new Heads of Mission designate and one (01) Head of Publish are members of the Sri Lanka Overseas Service.

The orientation programme was inaugurated by the Minister of Overseas Affairs Ali Sabry who highlighted the present priorities for Sri Lanka Missions and overseas coverage challenges. Overseas Secretary Aruni Wijewardane emphasised on the management position of Heads of Mission in attaining the targets and targets of the nation. The orientation programme included discussions on financial, political, safety, cultural and consular issues and discipline visits to the Northern Province in addition to different authorities entities. The Ambassadors designate introduced their methods for his or her time period of workplace at a panel dialogue attended by Overseas Minister Ali Sabry, State Minister of Overseas Affairs Tharaka Balasuriya and Overseas Secretary Aruni Wijewardane. The Heads of Mission designate paid a courtesy name on Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena and pays a courtesy name on President Ranil Wickremesinghe sooner or later.

The newly appointed Heads of Mission designate from the Overseas Service embody, Everlasting Consultant designate to the UN in Geneva Himalee Arunathilaka, Ambassador designate to Bahrain Reethi Wijeratne, Excessive Commissioner designate to Australia Chitranganee Wagiswara, Ambassador designate to Vietnam Dr. Saj Mendis, Ambassador designate to France Manisha Gunasekera, , Ambassador designate to Kuwait B. Kandeepan, Ambassador designate to Ethiopia & Africa Union Theshantha Kumarasiri, Ambassador designate to Germany Varuni Muthukumarana, Ambassador designate to Lebanon Kapila Jayaweera, , Ambassador designate to Jordan Priyangika Wijegunasekara, Ambassador designate to the Philippines Dr. Chanaka Talpahewa, Ambassador designate to Israel Nimal Bandara and Consul Basic designate to Milan Dilani Weerakoon .

As well as, Ambassador designate to Indonesia Admiral Jayanath Colombage, Ambassador designate to the UAE Udaya Indrarathna and, Consul Basic in Melbourne Sandith Samarasinghe have additionally been appointed.





How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *